Ib Chorkendorff

Video Portrait

Short CV

Ib Chorkendorff is Professor in Heterogeneous Catalysis at DTU-Physics. He earned his PhD in 1985 Odense University Denmark, and after a postdoc at University of Pittsburgh, USA, he was employed in 1987 at DTU where he became full Professor in 1999. From 2005-2016 director of Danish National Research Foundation Center for Individual Nanoparticle Functionality (CINF) and from 2016 he has been director of The Villum Center for the Science of Sustainable Fuels and Chemicals (V-SUSTAIN). He has author or coauthored more than > 413 scientific papers, > 23 patents and one textbook “Concepts of Modern Catalysis and Kinetics”. He has since 2017 been listed as Highly Cited Researcher (ISI) (top 1%) https://www.webofscience.com/wos/author/record/1117683/. Ib Chorkendorff’s research activities focus on finding new catalysts for improving energy production/conversion and for environmental protection.
He is co-founder of three start-up companies RENCAT APS, HPNOW APS and Spectroinlets APS.

Selected Awards

  • 2022, Awarded The Eni Award: Energy Frontiers Prize of 100 k€.
  • 2021, Awarded the Villum Kann Rassmussen Annual Award of 0.7 M€.
  • 2020, Awarded a Hans Fischer Senior Fellowship at Technical University of Munich, Germany.
  • 2019, Awarded the Julius Thomsen Gold Medal, Technical University of Denmark.
  • 2018-2020, Awarded the Chinese Overseas High-level Talents Program, Chinese Academy
  • 2018-, Elected Member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • 2015-, Elected Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)
  • 2012-2015, Chalmers Jubilee Distinguished Visiting Professor, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
  • 2007, Awarded the Ingeborg and Leo Dannin’s Prize for Natural Science Research
  • 2000, Awarded the Ulrik and Marie Brinch award

Research Interests

Catalysis, Surface Science, Energy Harvesting and Conversion, Power to X, Reaction Kinetic.

Selected Publications

Most important publications 2019-2023:

Full list https://www.staff.dtu.dk/icho.

  1. X. Fu, J. B. Pedersen, Y. Zhou, M. Saccoccio, S. Li, R. Sažinas, K. Li, S. Z. Andersen, A. Xu, N. H. Deissler, J. j. V. Mygin, C. Wei, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, J. K. Nørskov, and I. Chorkendorff, “Electrosynthesis of ammonia from nitrogen reduction coupled with hydrogen oxidation in a continuous-flow reactor”, SCIENCE 379 (2023) 707-712. DOI: 10.1126/science.adf4403.
  2. S. Li, Y. Zhou, K. Li, M. Saccoccio, R. Sažinas, S. Z. Andersen, J. B. Pedersen, X. Fu, V. Shadravan, D. Chakraborty, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, J. K. Nørskov, I. Chorkendorff, “Electrosynthesis of ammonia with high selectivity and high rates via engineering of the solid-electrolyte interphase“, Joule 6 (2022) 1-19. DOI: 10.1016/j.joule.2022.07.009.
  3. V. Shadravan, A. Cao, V J. Bukas, M. K. Grønborg, C. D. Damsgaard, Z. Wang, J. Kibsgaard, J. K. Nørskov, and I. Chorkendorff, “Enhanced promotion of ammonia catalysts by in situ dosing of Cs”, Energy & Environ. Sci. 15 (2022) 3310-3320, DOI: 10.1039/D2EE00591C.
  4. K. Li, S. G. Shapel, D. Hochfilzer, J. B. Pedersen, K. Krempl, S. Z. Andersen, R. Sažinas, M. Saccoccio, S. Li, D. Chakraborty, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, J. K. Nørskov, and I. Chorkendorff, “Increasing current density of Li-mediated ammonia synthesis with high surface area copper electrodes” ACS Energy Lett. 7 (2022) 36-41. DOI:10.1021/acsenergylett.1c02104.
  5. K. Li, S. Z. Andersen, M. J. Statt, M. Saccoccio, V. J. Bukas, K. Krempl, R. Sažinas1, J. B. Pedersen, V. Shadravan, Y. Zhou, D. Chakraborty, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, J. K. Nørskov, and I. Chorkendorff, “Enhancement of Li-mediated Ammonia Synthesis by Addition of Oxygen”, SCIENCE 374 (2021) 1593-97. DOI: 10.1126/science.abl4300.
  6. Y-R. Zheng,  J. Vernieres, Z. Wang, K. Zhang, D. Hochfilzer, K. Krempl, T-W. Liao, F. Presel, T. Altantzis, J. Fatermans, S. B. Scott1, N. M. Secher, C. Moon, P. Liu, S. Bals, S. V. Aert, A. Cao, M. Anand, J. K. Nørskov, J. Kibsgaard, and I. Chorkendorff, “Monitoring Oxygen Production on Mass-Selected Ir0.1Ta0.9O2.45 Catalysts”, Nature Energy 7 (2021) 55-64, DOI: 10.1038/s41560-021-00948-w.
  7. S. Z. Andersen, M. J. Statt, V. J. Bukas, S.G. Shapel, J. B. Pedersen, K. Krempl, Mattia Saccoccio, D. Chakraborty, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, J. Nørskov, and I. Chorkendorff, “Increasing Stability and Efficiency of Lithium-Mediated Electrochemical Nitrogen Reduction” Energy & Environ. Sci. 13 (2020) 4291. DOI: 10.1039/D0EE02246B.
  8. S. Z. Andersen, V. Čolić, S. Yang, J. A. Schwalbe, A. C. Nielander, J. M. McEnaney, J. G. Baker, A. R. Singh, B. A. Rohr, M. J. Statt, S. J. Blair, S. Mezzavilla, K. Enemark-Rasmussen, J. Kibsgaard, P. C. K. Vesborg, M. Cargnello, S. F. Bent, T. F. Jaramillo, I. E. L. Stephens, J. K. Nørskov and I. Chorkendorff, “Benchmarking  the  Electrochemical  Nitrogen  Reduction  Reaction” NATURE, 570 (2019) 504-508, DOI: 10.1038/s41586-019-1260-x.
  9. J. Kibsgaard & I. Chorkendorff, “On the use of critical materials and caveats of testing catalysts for water splitting.” Nature Energy, 4 (2019) 430-432, DOI: 10.1038/s41560-019-0407-1.
  10. S. T. Wismann, J. S. Engbæk, S. Vendelbo, F. B. Bendixen, W. L. Eriksen, K. Aasberg-Peteresen, C. Frandsen, I. Chorkendorff and P.M. Mortensen,” Miniaturized mega-scale: A disruptive approach for greener hydrogen production at industrial scale”, SCIENCE  364 (2019) 756. DOI:10.1126/scienceaaw8775.


Publications as TUM-IAS-Fellow


  • Aletsee, Clara C.; Hochfilzer, Degenhart; Kwiatkowski, Anika; Becherer, Markus; Kibsgaard, Jakob; Chorkendorff, Ib; Tschurl, Martin; Heiz, Ueli: A re-useable microreactor for dynamic and sensitive photocatalytic measurements: Exemplified by the photoconversion of ethanol on Pt-loaded titania P25. Review of Scientific Instruments 94 (3), 2023, 033909 more…