Kaye Morgan receives prestigious Phillip Law Postdoctoral Award


We are happy to announce that our TUM-IAS Hans Fischer Fellow Dr. Kaye Morgan won the 2017 Philip Law Postdoctoral Award for the Physical Sciences. This award is open to outstanding early-career researchers (in the area of the physical sciences) within seven years of their doctoral degree being conferred by a University in the State of Victoria, Australia. Moreover, applicants must either be an Australian Citizen or have Australian Resident Status.

Morgan works with the x-ray imaging group in the School of Physics and Astronomy in the Faculty of Science at Monash University as a Research Fellow supported by a Veski Postdoctoral Research Fellowship. In addition she is spending time at the TUM-IAS, where she holds a Hans Fischer Fellowship. RSV (Royal Society of Victoria) Science Program Chair, Dr. Kevin Orrman-Rossiter emphasized that “Dr. Morgan has clearly distinguished herself in this field, not only for her strong record of collaboration, publication and conference presentation, but also her vigorous commitment to supervising the next generation of PhD students and teaching into a physics Masters course. All this, while her research is being directly translated into medical applications and innovations in technology used by a global research community! She is an outstanding Victorian researcher, one of our very brightest, and we should all be very proud of everything she’s achieving.”

As a successful candidate Morgan received a certificate and a prize of $3000. In addition she presented a public lecture (titled “Playing with Light: Dynamic Soft-Tissue X-Ray Imaging at the Synchrotron”) on her research to an audience of members of the RSV and guests on 28th September 2017.