TUM-IAS Fellows 2018


We are proud to announce that a total of 12 Fellows have recently joined the TUM-IAS community as a result of the September 2017 call! The new Fellows, as always very diverse, will be hosted by the departments of Chemistry, Informatics, Mechanical Engineering, Medicine, Physics, and the Center for Life Sciences Weihenstephan as well as – this is a first – the TUM School of Governance. Also for the first time, we are very pleased to welcome a Fellow from a university in Argentina, which is a result of our call for Regional Fellowships (Latin America).

Anna Boyksen Fellows

Dr. Sara Lucatello
INAF (Italian National Institute for Astrophysics) Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova
Host: Prof. Laura Fabbietti, Dense and Strange Hadronic Matter, PH

Prof. Nina A. Mayr
Department of Radiation Oncology, UW Medicine, University of Washington
Host: Prof. Stephanie E. Combs, University Hospital Klinikum rechts der Isar, ME

Carl von Linde Senior Fellow

Prof. Bernhard Küster
Proteomics and Bioanalytics, WZW

Hans Fischer Fellows

Dr. Angel Xuan Chang
3D Vision Lab, Princeton University
Host: Prof. Matthias Nießner, Visual Computing, IN

Dr. Luca Magri
Energy, Fluid Mechanics and Turbomachinery, University of Cambridge
Host: Prof. Wolfgang Polifke, Thermo-Fluid Dynamics, MW

Prof. Robert A. Schmitz
Population Epigenomics and Mechanisms of Epigenetics, University of Georgia
Host: Prof. Frank Johannes, Population Epigenetics and Epigenomics, WZW

Hans Fischer Senior Fellows

Prof. Marta C. Antonelli
Cellular Biology and Neuroscience, Universidad de Buenos Aires
Host: Prof. Marion Kiechle/PD Dr. Silvia Lobmaier, Gynecology, ME

Prof. Noelle Eckley Selin
Pollution, Impacts and Policy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Host: Prof. Miranda Schreurs, Environmental and Climate Policy, GOV

Prof. Leonidas Guibas
Geometric Computing, Stanford University
Host: Prof. Matthias Niessner, Visual Computing, IN

Prof. Henrik Selin
International Relations, Boston University
Host: Prof. Miranda Schreurs, Environmental and Climate Policy, GOV

Rudolf Diesel Industry Fellows

Dr. Mirko Bothien
Ansaldo Energia
Host: Prof. Thomas Sattelmayer, Thermodynamics, MW

Dr. Filippo Maglia
BMW Group
Host: Prof. Hubert Gasteiger, Technical Electrochemistry, CH