Call for Applications: Albrecht Struppler, Anna Boyksen, Hans Fischer, Hans Fischer Senior and Rudolf Diesel Industry Fellowships

News, Call |

TUM-IAS hereby invites applications for Fellowships in the following categories of its Fellowship program:

  • Albrecht Struppler Clinician Scientist Fellowships for excellent physicians working at the TUM University Hospital Klinikum rechts der Isar who intend  to carry out a research project at the intersection of medicine and another research field within the TUM subject portfolio (more information)
  • Anna Boyksen Fellowships for outstanding top-level female professors from outside TUM who intend to explore gender- and diversity-relevant themes in the context of the TUM subject portfolio (more information)
  • Hans Fischer Fellowships for outstanding early-career scientists from outside TUM (more information) – please see specifics on the program below!
  • Hans Fischer Senior Fellowships for renowned international scientists from outside TUM (more information) – please see specifics on the program below!
  • Rudolf Diesel Industry Fellowships for highly qualified researchers from industry (more information)

Further information on the conditions and the selection process is available here.

Regional Hans Fischer (Senior) Fellows (Africa/Eastern Europe): To promote regional diversity, the TUM-IAS will award one of the Hans Fischer or Hans Fischer Senior Fellowships to a candidate from a home institution in Africa or Eastern Europe* (list of eligible Eastern European countries at the end of this e-mail). Candidates for this Fellowship will undergo a separate evaluation, taking into account local evaluation factors. The Fellow will then receive the regular Hans Fischer (Senior) Fellowship benefits. For the Regional Fellowship, the tandem application rule (see below) does not apply.

GNI Hans Fischer (Senior) Fellows: TUM-IAS invites nominations for Hans Fischer and/or Hans Fischer Senior Fellowships that focus on the research field of Artificial Intelligence for the Built Environment. Up to 2 Fellowships can be awarded in the course of this call. The Fellowships are funded by the TUM Georg Nemetschek Institute on Artificial Intelligence for the Built World.

We would also like to draw your attention to the tandem application rule for Hans Fischer and Hans Fischer Senior Fellowships (including the GNI Fellowships, not including the Regional Fellowships): As in the previous years, each TUM professor (Host) is required to suggest two candidates, at least one of which must be a female researcher. Both applications will be evaluated individually according to our usual multi-stage evaluation procedure. Tandem nominations can be for the same or for several Fellowship categories (Anna Boyksen, Hans Fischer, Hans Fischer Senior, Rudolf Diesel Industry Fellowship). From the proposed tandem, both candidates may be successful, or one, or none.

Applications are to be submitted online by February 01, 2022 (23:59 CET).

To scientists and TUM professors considering a future collaboration, we would also like to point out the TUM Global Visiting Professor Program for short-term visits of up to three months. During this initial shorter visit, prospective collaborators can explore the possibility of a future, more long-term collaboration in the framework of an Anna Boyksen, Hans Fischer (Senior) or Rudolf Diesel Industry Fellowship. The call for applications is made separately via the TUM Global & Alumni Office; applications are currently open (more information).

TUM-IAS explicitly encourages nominations of and applications from women as well as from all others who would bring additional diversity dimensions to the university’s research and teaching strategies.

For questions, please contact TUM-IAS Program Manager Dr. Susanne Wahler.

* For this purpose, Eastern Europe includes the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.