Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizewinners

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the highest honour awarded in German research. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified young researchers.

The TUM-IAS welcomes the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizewinners as Honorary Fellows and members of the TUM-IAS community.


Prof. Dr. Sami Haddadin, Chair of Robotics Science and Systems Intelligence, TUM

Prof. Dr. Brenda Schulman, Department of Chemistry, TUM


Prof. Dr. Vasilis Ntziachristos Institute of Biological and Medical Imaging, TUM


Prof. Dr. Barbara Wohlmuth Chair of Numerical Mathematics, TUM


Prof. Dr. Susanne Albers Chair for Theoretical Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Martin Beneke Chair for Theoretical Elementary Particle Physics

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. rer. nat. Holger Boche Institute of Theoretical Information Technology


Prof. Dr. Arthur Konnerth Institute of Neurosciences, TUM


Prof. Dr. Jean Karen Gregory Former Professor of Materials Science

Prof. Dr. Ernst W. Mayr Department of Computer Science, Chair for Efficient Algorithms, TUM


Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c.mult. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann Former Chair of Applied Mathematics, TUM


Prof. Dr. Joachim Milberg Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BMW AG
Former Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, TUM


Prof. Dr. Gerhard Abstreiter Chair of  Experimental Semiconductor Physics I, TUM

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. W.A. Herrmann President of Technische Universität München
Chair of Inorganic Chemistry, TUM

Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hubert Schmidbaur Chair for Anorganic and Analytical Chemistry, TUM (retired)