Kai Müller

Short CV

Kai Müller studied Physics at TUM. After completing a PhD in Physics at TUM in 2013 he spent two years as a postdoctoral researcher at Stanford University, funded by a Feodor-Lynen fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation. After returning to Germany he established a junior research group at the Walter Schottky Institut of TUM, funded by the highly-competitive “Quantum Futur” program from the German ministry of education and research (BMBF). Since May 2017, he is one of the twenty members of the “Young Academy” of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities. In April 2019 he was appointed as a Rudolf Mößbauer Tenure Track Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of TUM.

Selected Awards

2018 “Quantum Futur” grant

2017 Fellow of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities as one of the twenty members of their “Young Academy”

2013 Feodor-Lynen fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation

2013 Dimitris N. Chorafas prize

Research Interests

Kai Müller’s research focusses on the photonic quantum engineering of building blocks which are essential for all areas of quantum science and technology, as well as the development of fully-integrated quantum-photonic circuits. This spans the entire range from fundamental quantum optical studies over the development of devices to demonstrator experiments. At its heart lies investigating the light-matter interaction in nanostructures in order to tailor it for emerging applications in quantum communication, quantum simulation, quantum computation, quantum metrology and quantum sensing.

Selected Publications

  1. L. Hanschke, K. A. Fischer, S. Appel, D. Lukin, J. Wierzbowski, S. Sun, R. Trivedi, J. Vuckovic, J. J. Finley, K. Müller, “Quantum dot single photon sources with ultra-low multi-photon probability”, npj Quantum Information 4, 43 (2018)
  2. K. A. Fischer, L. Hanschke, J. Wierzbowski, T. Simmet, C. Dory, J. J. Finley, J. Vuckovic, K. Müller, “Signatures of two-photon pulses from a quantum two-level system” Nature Physics 13, 649–654 (2017)
  3. K. Müller, K. A. Fischer, C. Dory, T. Sarmiento, K. G. Lagoudakis, A. Rundquist, Y. Kelaita, J. Vuckovic, “Self-homodyne-enabled generation of indistinguishable photons”, Optica 3 (9), 931-936 (2016)
  4. K. A. Fischer, K. Müller, A. Rundquist, T. Sarmiento, A. Y. Piggott, Y. Kelaita, C. Dory, K. G. Lagoudakis, J. Vuckovic, “Self-homodyne measurement of a dynamic Mollow triplet in the solid state”, Nature Photonics 10, 163-166 (2016)
  5. A. Bechtold, F. Li, K. Müller, T. Simmet, P-L. Ardelt, J. J. Finley, N. A. Sinitsyn, “Quantum Effects in Higher-Order Correlators of a Quantum-Dot Spin Qubit”, Physical Review Letters 117, 027402 (2016)
  6. A. Bechtold, D. Rauch, F. Li, T. Simmet, P.-L. Ardelt, A. Regler, K. Müller, N. A. Sinitsyn, J. J. Finley, “Three stage decoherence dynamics of electron spin qubits in an optically active quantum dot”, Nature Physics 11, 1005–1008 (2015)
  7. K. Müller, K. A. Fischer, A. Rundquist, C. Dory, K. G. Lagoudakis, T. Sarmiento, Y. A. Kelaita, V. Borish, J. Vuckovic, “Ultrafast Polariton-Phonon Dynamics of Strongly Coupled Quantum Dot-Nanocavity Systems”, Physical Review X 5 (3), 031006 (2015)
  8. K. Müller, A. Rundquist, K. A. Fischer, T. Sarmiento, K. G. Lagoudakis, Y. A. Kelaita, C. Sánchez Muñoz, E. del Valle, F. P. Laussy, J. Vuckovic, “Coherent Generation of Nonclassical Light on Chip via Detuned Photon Blockade”, Physical Review Letters 114 (23), 233601 (2015)
  9. C. Sànchez-Munoz, E. del Valle, A. Gonzalez-Tudela, K. Müller, S. Lichtmannecker, M. Kaniber, C. Tejedor, J.J. Finley, F.P. Laussy, “Emitters of N-photon bundles”, Nature Photonics 8, 550–555 (2014)
  10. K. Müller, A. Bechtold, C. Ruppert, M. Zecherle, G. Reithmaier, M. Bichler, H. J. Krenner, G. Abstreiter, A. W. Holleitner, J. M. Villas-Bôas, M. Betz, J. J. Finley, “Electrical Control of Interdot Electron Tunneling in a Double InGaAs Quantum-Dot Nanostructure”, Physical Review Letters 108, 197402 (2012)

Complete publication list: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=O_a3K38AAAAJ

Publications as TUM-IAS-Fellow


  • Julian Klein, Michael Lorke, Matthias Florian, Florian Sigger, Jakob Wierzbowski, John Cerne, Kai Müller, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, Ursula Wurstbauer, Michael Kaniber, Michael Knap, Richard Schmidt, Jonathan J. Finley, Alexander W. Holleitner: Atomistic defect states as quantum emitters in monolayer MoS2. 2019 mehr…
  • Klein, J.; Lorke, M.; Florian, M.; Sigger, F.; Sigl, L.; Rey, S.; Wierzbowski, J.; Cerne, J.; Müller, K.; Mitterreiter, E.; Zimmermann, P.; Taniguchi, T.; Watanabe, K.; Wurstbauer, U.; Kaniber, M.; Knap, M.; Schmidt, R.; Finley, J. J.; Holleitner, A. W.: Site-selectively generated photon emitters in monolayer MoS2 via local helium ion irradiation. Nature Communications 10 (1), 2019 mehr…