Board of Trustees

The International Board of Trustees advises the Director on general scientific, organizational and technical issues. The Board also defines the general strategy and standards of the Institute.

Prof. Wolfgang A. Herrmann

Technische Universität München, President
Chairman of the TUM-IAS Board of Trustees

Dr. Enno Aufderheide

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Secretary General

Prof. Anders O. Bjarklev

Technical University of Denmark

Prof. Michael John Hannon

University of Birmingham
School of Chemistry
Director of the Institute of Advanced Studies
Chair of Chemical Biology and Director of the EPSRC Research and Training Centre in Physical Sciences for Health

Dr. Ludwig Kronthaler

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Vice President for Finance, Human Resources and Operations

Christian Kullmann

Evonik Industries AG
Chairman of the Executive Board


Foto: Evonik Industries

Prof. Christine Lang

MBCC Group
Consulting and Coaching in Microbiotics and Bioeconomy

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reimund Neugebauer


Dr. Dorothea Rüland

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Secretary General

Prof. Hiroyuki Sakaki

The University of Tokyo
Professor Emeritus

Toyota Technological Institute

Foto: Masayuki Shioda

Prof. Bert Sakmann

Max Planck Florida Institute
Inaugural Scientific Directo

Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology
Emeritus Research Group Leader

Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 1991

Prof. Londa Schiebinger

Stanford University
John L. Hinds Professor of the History of Science

Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment

Prof. Dr. med. Markus Schwaiger

TUM, University Hospital Klinikum rechts der Isar
Medical Director

Prof. Henry Tye

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study
Former Director, IAS Professor and Chair Professor of Physics